top of page

Employ me, if you dare!

Guys, the struggle is real! I am a 28 year old very employable woman and I cannot seem to find even a crumb of a job that is willing to hire me or give me an interview. Interviews to me are elusive and intangible in the current job hiring climate and if I manage to hook one, it feels as though I'm deep sea fishing and have just hooked a prize winning fish. Most graduate positions or roles that I am surely overqualified for go a little like this " Looking for a hardworking, driven candidate with 2 or more years experience in the given field". This then makes you feel a range of emotions from sad to angry and eventually just giving up and collecting everything in the cupboards and fridge and start eating your feelings.

The notion that you are already supposed to have at least 2 years experience when entering the workplace is perplexing and may cause you to take up day drinking to deal with the stress of not having said skill set. Many young Australians are willing and ready to start full time employment, yet these hypocritical standards are preventing well educated individuals from even getting to the interview stage. The vicious cycle of applying for jobs, getting no response or being blatantly rejected eventually takes its toll and you eventually end up sitting in an a pool of your own tears wondering what you did wrong or who you didn't impress to get that highly coveted barista position that you are entirely overqualified for.

As I once again turn to the fridge for solace the "Its me, not you" romance line in every breakup movie passes through my mind and I'm hit with a boost of motivation and i put the food stained, million year old tee-shirt from my childhood I have been wearing to apply for jobs in the wash. With my new found confidence and a cleaner shirt, I continue the never ending act of looking for a job. I am not a picky lady, heck I will take anything! So if you know a friend of a friends uncles friends cousin is looking for someone, give me a holler.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page